I’ve been reading a bit on 5 Love Languages. What’s that about? Well, let’s first start with the fact that the world doesn’t revolve around you, and there are people in your life that have needs, requirements, and feel happy, motivated and loved under different scenarios. One size does not fit all, which is why everyone has a different Emotional Quotient. If you happen to like Video Games and I gift you a bunch of roses, that wouldn’t make you very happy. A gift (or giving something, not necessarily materialistic, we’ll come to that too in a moment) is giving what the other person wants, not what you want to give. Confused? Get your head out of your own a$$, it’ll be crystal clear. 

Here are the 5 different love languages

  1. Words of Affirmation

What does this mean? Some people have a tendency to get inspired, motivated, mostly by words. They need that affirmation that what they’re doing is right. It makes them content, they don’t care if you get them an expensive gift, words matter to them the most. They perform well when encouraged regularly. Heard of the saying “Change your words, change your life“? This applies here. 

     2.  Acts of Service

Actions speak louder than words” applies here. You can talk about things all day long, but until there is movement, until there is action, people who are moved by Acts of Service, don’t value what you say, they value what you do. They value how you follow up to your commitments. Actions encourage them, more than anything else. 

     3. Receiving Gifts

Sweet! Easy! Isn’t it? Whenever there’s a fight between a couple, usually the make up is followed up by gifts. And sometimes, the issue is not resolved. Sounds familiar? Perhaps the resolution lies in a different love language. ;). In a materialistic world, perhaps this is what most folks do and most folks are happy in this zone. They think money can buy love, hence the expression. 

4. Quality Time

You can buy all the gifts, you can do everything possible, but if you don’t spend quality time with folks who want this, all of that becomes meaningless. OK, maybe not meaningless, but less meaningful. You get the idea. 

5. Physical Touch

Affection is shown in many different ways, one of the ways is touch. A hug, a handshake, a pat on the back. Something. 

At the end of the day, all the 5 above are needed for any relationship. The ratios might change on different days, perhaps different ratios with different people too. Just like music. There’s treble, bass, fade, speakers, etc. many variables that make music. When bass is increased, it becomes techno music, when treble is increased, you get Jhankar Beats 😉 

These variables are all needed, but it’s good to find out what your significant other needs. What love language does he/she understand. Maybe you have good intentions, but the language you speak is not being understood. Perhaps, that’s not what the other person wants. Invest your time in learning the language, it’s a great gift understanding someone that you care for. 

The above is my interpretation. For more detailed information visit http://www.5lovelanguages.com/

Information source – http://www.5lovelanguages.com/ 

Coach V
Let's Talk!

Coach V

Fitness Coach / Blogger at www.FitnessYodha.Com
An Engineer by profession and a Fitness Coach / Blogger by choice. You will find posts pertaining to Fitness, Nutrition, Humor, Movie Reviews and sometimes Physics and some Philosophy as well.

I write from my heart.
I'd write even if no one was reading.

"Offending people since 1977"
Coach V
Let's Talk!

Latest posts by Coach V (see all)